Review: The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby (1997)
132 pages
Knopf; 0-375-40115-6

This small book tells the true story of Bauby, the editor of the French fashion magazine Elle who, at the age of 43, suffered a massive stroke that resulted in locked-in syndrome.  He was fully conscious but could only move his left eye as a way of communicating.  Despite this, he wrote the book and communicated with people using a special alphabet.

His determination and willpower to go on creating despite his debilitating circumstances speaks to his courage and desire to continue living.  However I found his writing to be a bit directionless.  He mostly reflected back on some things he’d experienced in life as well as detailed what it was like for him to be “locked in.”  Knowing that this was a true story definitely heightened the reading experience but not enough to make it truly remarkable for me.

I guess I was expecting him to relay some information about things he’d realized or learned due to what had happened to him.  Maybe he had a great epiphany about the meaning of life that he was going to share.  Perhaps just by writing the book he is commenting on the importance of living life to the fullest no matter what your situation.  It was also a great reminder to be thankful for all the things you have because they might be gone in an instant.

I can’t say this book had a profound affect on me as far as the content but the drive behind it was definitely something to make me stop and think.  The writing was sparse and beautiful and it did give me an appreciation for my life and the fact that I have the ability to move around.  If you’re interested in more, there is also a film that was based on this book.

My Rating:  ★★★☆☆

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!