Booking Through Thursday: Not in Theaters

BTT asked: And–the reverse of last week’s question. Name one book that you hope never, ever, ever gets made into a movie (no matter how good that movie might be).

My Answer: I originally wanted to say Love in the Time of Cholera but that’s already been made into a movie.  When I first saw they were going to adapt it I couldn’t believe it!  I have seen the film and it simply doesn’t do the book any justice, but what film could?  So my second answer is One Hundred Years of Solitude.  I love this book and can’t imagine how it would be on film.  It’s impossible to adapt but, even if it were adapted well, I’d much rather picture the world in my head as I read.  I’ll never forget discovering this author and these books and become completely absorbed by them.  Now my favorite author, all his works hold a special place in my heart and should remain on the written page, not on the big screen.

I think the same thing about Catcher in the Rye even though this isn’t my favorite book, I just don’t ever want it translated to film and I hope Salinger’s estate (or whoever is in charge of this decision) never lets them do it!

This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Booking Through Thursday: Not in Theaters

  1. Completely agree with this one. It would be a disaster as a movie.

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday.html

  2. I haven’t read any Gabriel Garcia Marquez, so I know I’m missing out. Seconding Catcher In the Rye, though for a different reason. Hated the book! 😛

    • Book Nympho says:

      I highly recommend GGM but I also know he’s not for everyone. I’m not a huge fan of Catcher in the Rye but it’s so special to a lot of people and I don’t think they’d do a good job adapting it and capturing the feeling. I read it before I was even in high school and remember liking it but a more mature me might have a different opinion…I’m afraid to re-read it though! 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    I don’t see how 100 years of Solitude could be adapted either and I wouldn’t want to.

    I’m afraid I hated Catcher in the Rye too although I read it years ago. Holden just seemed so bratty. I now only have vague memories of the books so maybe I should give it a re-read.

    • Book Nympho says:

      I agree, it should never be touched! Was just responding to another comment about how I was young when I read Catcher so the present day me might just agree with you but I’d rather preserve the nice memories of the original reading! 🙂

  4. sara says:

    I completely agree with your choices!!! I think I saw part of Love in the Time of Cholera and was so bored!! I also couldn’t finish One Hundred Years of Solitude and WOULD NOT watch the movie-too many characters adn too many same or similar names!!

    • Book Nympho says:

      Thanks for commenting! I agree, the film of Cholera was just terrible! And any book you hate would just make a terrible film although I happened to love Solitude but it’s so epic it would be hard to translate to film.

  5. Sally says:

    I really did not like The Catcher in the Rye although I read it quite a long time ago, so I would be OK with that not being a movie.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday-16.html

  6. Jackie says:

    Agreed- hands off, Hollywood!

Let me know what you think!